Prelude - Tba-Pno

CODE: AP-03009


No sample

PRELUDE by Robert James Dvorak is a quality solo work built on A-B-A1 form beginning and ending with a slow, expressive melody which utilizes the rich tones of the instrument. Tritones in section B reflect the inner struggles and tensions of life. A musician in love with his instrument and music can really develop musicality with this work! Tuba Solo with Piano. Grade: 3 Duration: 4:24

Background Notes are in the Resources tab.

Prelude (score2285.pdf, 124 Kb) [Download]

Background Notes
At seventeen years of age during his senior year at Morton High School in Cicero, Illinois, Robert Dvorak studied music theory in the class of Robert Lundgren, a teacher in the high school music department.  He was also first chair French Horn player in the school's symphony orchestra and symphonic band.  Both organizations featured such music as Antonín Dvořák's symphonies and Bedřich Smetana's My Country in their concert programs under the directon of outstanding music educator, Louis M. Bláha.  Prelude for French Horn and Piano was written in the spring of 1937 and played by its student composer in love with his instrument.  It was his first composition for solo instrument and features a slow expressive melody utilizing the lush tones of the horn.  Noteworthy performances included several school and community programs in Cicero and Berwyn, Illinois.  In August 1941, he was offered a contract with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra as a horn player. (He had been playing extra parts with that group occasionally).  The very next day he was drafted for military service.  Assigned to the United States Military Academy at West Point, New York, he played  1st Horn in the Band.  While there, he appeared as guest soloist and played the Prelude in the USMA Post Cathedral accompanied by the Academy's organist, Frederick B. Mayer.  
In the ensuing years, the accompaniment to this instrumental solo was lost, so at the request of Anita Smisek, editor of Alliance Publications, Inc, Robert Dvorak prepared this new accompaniment for publication.  Minor changes were made by the composer in the melody and extensions were added to provide for a more balanced work.   In A B A1 form, this work conveys both the beauty and charm of this piece.