Furfangos diákok/Die listigen Studenten

The Sly Students - BD - Set

CODE: AP-06098 Set


No sample

THE SLY STUDENTS is composed with six movements by for wind orchestra by Hungarian composer, Ferenc Farkas (1905-2000), originates from a Suite from the ballet of the same title—“The sly students for orchestra” composed in 1949. In 2014, Swiss Band director, Tony Kurmann arranged it for wind orchestra. Concert Band. Set of Score and Parts. Grade: 5 Duration: 20:00

1. "Fair in Debrecen" / "Vásár Debrecenben" – 4’28’’ -– Molto allegro
2. "Air de danse" – 2’26’’ – Tempo di minuetto
3. "Students’dance" / "Diákok tánca" – 4’51’’– Allegro moderato
4. "Gipsy-music" / "Cigányzene" – 1’31’’ – Tempo di Csárdás
5. "Pas de deux" – 2’20’’ - Adagio
6. "Finale:"
– a. "Drunken-dance" / "Részeg tánc" - Allegro
– b. "Humorous funeral march" / "Tréfás gyászinduló" - Molto meno mosso
– c. Horseherds-dance / Csikósok tánca) –4’31’’
Background Notes are in the Resources tab.

Type the characters you see in the picture above.

Background Note by the composer, Ferenc Farkas —
In 1949, the Opera House gave me a commission that filled me with joy : they asked me to compose the music for a ballet entitled “The Sly Students” ("Furfangos diákok"). The story takes place in Debrecen: Professor Horváth, Director of the College, wanted his daughter Rozsika to marry Józsi, the son of the town treasurer. But the young girl is in love with Ádám, a poor student... I had only one month to write the score: so, when I had written a few pages, I immediately sent them to the copyist and, as I no longer had the parts I had just composed, I had to re-orchestrate the repeated passages. The ballet's première took place in the Budapest Opera House on 19 June, 1949.
The same year, I pulled from my music ballet, one Suite for orchestra : the first movement depicts the picturesque and lively jostling of the crowd on the Debrecen’s marketplace. The second movement, “Air de danse” is followed by a Verbunkos (military recruitment’s traditional dance performed by clapping on boots) and Gypsy music. The “Pas de deux” is a sentimental dialogue between Adám and his sweetheart. The last movement is composed of three parts : Józsi's "Drunken dance", then a “Humorous funeral march” depicting his fictitious burial. The work ends with a “Horse herds' dance.”